Saturday, February 24

A Guide To Every Current Champion In WWE 

The goal for most WWE superstars is to get their hands on some gold, and whether it be a world title, a tag team title, or a midcard belt, it can often be the pinnacle of someone’s career to be crowned as a champion. Titles can change a fair amount, so keeping up with who is champion is something fans need to do.

RELATED: Why These 10 Former WWE World Champions Failed

This will take a look at who the current champions are on WWE’s main roster, and it will look into their reign, exploring how they won the title and how good (or bad) their run with that specific belt has been.

UPDATE: 2023/11/23 14:30 EST BY ANDREW KELLY

Since the last look at WWE’s line-up of champions, not too much has changed in terms of title holders. The Undisputed Tag Team Titles have played hot potato, and a new United States Champion was crowned, but that is it. Of course, there have been defenses here and there, and Roman Reigns even came out of hibernation to put his Undisputed WWE Universal Championship on the line. One trend under Triple H has been lengthy title reigns, with this meaning more than having a growing tally of title reigns to your name, and that is evidently the case currently, with title reigns only getting stronger and stronger as the months go on.

Women’s Tag Team Champions: Chelsea Green & Piper Niven

This Women’s Tag Team Title Reign Has Been Cursed

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

August 14, 2023 (WWE RAW)

97+ Days

Vs. Chase U (NXT Halloween Havoc 2023)

WWE’s Women’s Tag Team Titles have been cursed, there is no doubt about that. Chelsea Green won the titles alongside Sonya Deville (who replaced her previous partner Carmella) from the duo of Liv Morgan and Raquel Rodriguez on Raw back in July, but an injury led to Green needing to find a new ally. Piper Niven stepped up and took the role beside her as champion.

Piper Niven’s injury derailed their momentum a little, and it has led to the pair (as of this writing) defending the championships one time on NXT. It makes a change though given how often these belts change hands. Green has now held the belts for four months, which is more than most.

United States Champion: Logan Paul

WWE Has A Major Mainstream Star Holding Their United States Championship

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

November 4, 2023 (WWE Crown Jewel 2023)

15+ Days


Logan Paul has his critics, but one thing no one can deny is his natural ability between the ropes. His pull as a social media star saw him pushed to the United States Championship scene, defeating Rey Mysterio for the gold at Crown Jewel 2023 (not without the help of a lackey, some brass knuckles, and Santos Escobar).

Paul looks to be entering more of a part-time status as champion. As of this writing, he has not celebrating his title win on-screen, started a feud, or even defended the belt next. This was expected, though it doesn’t so many favors for the championship, especially since the other SmackDown title is also under a part-time champ.

Intercontinental Champion: Gunther

Gunther Has Brought Prestige Back To The Intercontinental Championship

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

June 10, 2022 (WWE SmackDown


Vs. Sheamus Vs. Drew McIntyre (WWE WrestleMania 39

Gunther recently broke the record of the longest reign of any Intercontinental Champion in WWE history, overtaking the long-standing record held by the Honky Tonk Man. After winning the title from Ricochet back in June of 2022, he has gone on a spree of stealing the show and fending off a lot of challengers.

Gunther has battled Sheamus, Drew McIntyre, Chad Gable, Rey Mysterio, Shinsuke Nakamura, Braun Strowman, and several more over his year-plus reign. It is safe to say he is now one of, if not the greatest Intercontinental Champion ever.

Undisputed Tag Team Champions: The Judgment Day (Damian Priest & Finn Balor)

The Judgment Day Has Dominated WWE In 2023

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

October 16, 2023 (WWE RAW)

29+ Days

Vs. Cody Rhodes & Jey Uso (WWE RAW 11/13/23)

Despite showing some tension in their ranks, the duo of Damian Priest and Finn Balor managed to work together at the recent Payback 2023 PPV to dethrone Sami Zayn amd Kevin Owens in a Street Fight to win the Undisputed Tag Team Titles, bringing more gold to the faction.

RELATED: 10 Best WWE Champions Ever, Ranked By Likability

The duo would drop the gold to Cody Rhodes and Jey Uso, but it wasn’t long until they clawed the titles back, starting their second reign with the red and blue tag title belts.

Women’s World Champion: Rhea Ripley

Rhea Ripley Is One Of WWE’s Biggest Stars Regardless Of Gender

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

April 1, 2023 (WWE WrestleMania 39)

227+ Days

Fatal Five Way (WWE Crown Jewel 2023)

Earlier this year, WWE renamed the SmackDown Women’s Championship to the WWE Women’s World Championship, with the new title being a white-strapped remake of the “Big Gold”. Rhea Ripley continued on her reign with the belt after having defeated Charlotte Flair in a match of the year candidate at WrestleMania 39.

Ripley’s reign may have lasted several months, but in terms of big matches and feuds, it has been sorely lacking. She has battled names like Zelina Vega, Natalya, and Raquel Rodriguez, but nothing has really wowed despite her still being booked quite strongly.

World Heavyweight Champion: Seth Rollins

Seth Rollins Made The World Heavyweight Championship Mean Something

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

May 27, 2023 (WWE Night Of Champions 2023)

177+ Days

Vs. Finn Balor (WWE SummerSlam 2023)

Due to Roman Reigns’ part-time schedule, WWE introduced the World Heavyweight Championship, which was a remake of the old Big Gold belt. It was won by Seth Rollins, who defeated AJ Styles at Night of Champions, and he has gone on a months-long reign which has really made him feel like a “workhorse champion”.

He has defended the gold in strong matches against names like Shinsuke Nakamura, Finn Balor, Drew McIntyre, Damian Priest, and Bron Breakker, and whilst it still doesn’t feel on the level of the other men’s world title, it is slowly growing in prominence.

Women’s Champion: Iyo Sky

Iyo Sky Is Finally Living Up To Her WWE Potential

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

August 5, 2023 (WWE SummerSlam 2023)

101+ Days

Vs. Asuka (WWE SmackDown 09/22/2023)

At SummerSlam 2023, Iyo Sky cashed in her Money in the Bank briefcase to become the new WWE Women’s Champion, quickly putting an end to Bianca Belair’s reign. Sky has had a lot of people coming her way, fending off names like Zelina Vega, Asuka, Charlotte Flair, and Bianca Belair.

She has proven to be a strong champion, and the intrigue in Damage CTRL’s status has been a nice undertone to her run with the gold. It feels like someone such as Bayley will eventually be the one to cost her her championship, but it hasn’t happened as of yet.

Undisputed WWE Universal Champion: Roman Reigns

Reigns Is Still The King Of WWE

Date Won

Length Of Reign

Best Defense

August 30, 2020 (WWE Payback 2020)

1177+ Days

Vs. Daniel Bryan Vs. Edge (WWE WrestleMania 37)

Roman Reigns has been champion for three years, in that time unifying both WWE and Universal Titles and fending off a sea of huge opponents including Brock Lesnar, John Cena, Daniel Bryan, Edge, Goldberg, Cody Rhodes, Jey Uso, Drew McIntyre, Kevin Owens, Sami Zayn, and countless more. It has been an all-timer run, though some are growing frustrated with it.

RELATED: Every Roman Reigns’ WWE Universal Title Defense, Ranked Worst To Best

Reigns’ schedule has depleted and his defenses are now so few and far between that his momentum is dwindling and fans just want to see someone else get their hands on the prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.