Thursday, November 30

WWE announces that the women’s tag team titles have been vacated

Liv Morgan and Raquel Rodríguez are no longer women’s tag team champions, as an injury to Morgan has forced the titles to be vacated.

WWE announced during Friday’s episode of SmackDown that Liv Morgan and Raquel Rodriguez have vacated the Women’s Tag Team Championships. With Morgan injured and unable to compete, Rodriguez confirmed in a backstage interview during the show that the duo were forced to relinquish their titles. WWE later tweeted the confirmation on their social media accounts.

The news that Morgan can’t go is obviously a setback, but it seems WWE has already put plans in motion to write a storyline surrounding the women most associated with the titles. During her interview, Bayley and Iyo Sky approached Rodriguez and challenged her to find a partner. A fatal four-way match will take place on the May 29 edition of Raw (their first after Night of Champions) which will include:


  • Shayna Baszler and Ronda Rousey
  • Bayley and Iyo Sky
  • Chelsea Green and Sonya Deville
  • Raquel Rodríguez and a couple of your choice

Dakota Kai was said to have been injured in last week’s match, so Sky and Bayley will be the two Damage CTRL members vying for the championships.

Related: Ronda Rousey “Tired Of” Smackdown Women’s Title, Wants Control Of Tag Division

Where is WWE going with this?

Many fans are wondering if this is a setup to eventually see Sky and Bayley fight, but it’s unlikely anything more than a tease will happen next week so these two can still be a team at Night of Champions. As for who Raquel’s tag team partner will be, it could be just about anyone still on the SmackDown roster. Among the women who are on the brand but not included are Charlotte Flair, Lacey Evans, Michin, Shotzi, Tamina and Zelina Vega.

Some fans have commented on social media that these tag titles seemed to be cursed. Hopefully WWE can find a team that will win them over and keep them for a while.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.